5 thoughts on “Chains by Laurie Halse Anderson

  1. i read the reviewers copy a few months back and i believe it is a remarkable book and with the actual historical quotes, it’s a wonderful book to read after taking us history. i fully recomend this book to anyone who loves historical fiction such as myself.

  2. I thought this book was interesting and meaningful. It’s more of a serious read than a fun read, with a lot of historically accurate detail that makes you feel like you are really there. It shows many sides of “freedom” and “independence” during the American Revolution and will really make you think! It is definitely Newbery caliber.

  3. I am torn about this book. On one hand, it is very original and has interesting characters. On the other hand, there is no character development and the book doesn’t really end. Also, I felt that certain parts of the book were historically unrealistic, like the fact that the main character has very few run ins with racism, which I felt would have been more widespread in the 1700s. This is a good Historical fiction book, nay a great Historical fiction book. But in this year, in which there are so many great books, a book has to be better than a Great book for it’s category…..it has to be a Great book that is so fantastic that children across the country will have to read it for decades to come. And I can’t, with an easy conscience, say that this is the book. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes history…but it is not a Newbery book.

  4. This book was an easy read as well as an educational one. I am in 8th grade and I did the book Chains for a book report in my History class. I started 9 weeks early so I could read a book. This book took me only 3 days to finish. READ IT!!!

  5. im a middle school student and i read this book for my book report. i thought the book was ok. i found it EXTREMELY boring at times, but other times i just found myself thinking that this was just some ordinary book. not one that really pulled me in. i wasnt very temped to read the sequel. still an ok book.

Leave a comment