6 thoughts on “Outside Beauty by Cynthia Kadohata

  1. I think this is a completely different type of book for Cynthia Kadohata this year! I was really pulled into the sisters’ relationship. Complicated family, but real love and loyalty. I think girls ages 12 and up would appreciate this one. What do you think?

  2. This was a really wonderful book. And yes, so different from last year’s Cracker! I really liked the dynamics between the sisters and their mother. I agree that this is definitely a book for girls 12 and up. I’m curious what boys would think about it.
    This is one of my favorite books so far!

  3. I read Cracker last year and loved it and I feel the same way about this book! I was really sucked into the story line and loved all the different character’s personalities. I think we should get some boys to blog their responses to this book.

  4. All of Cynthia Kadohata’s books in the last two years have been in my top four, and this one is no different. There’s something about the writing that alows you to really understand and get to know the characters. I like how the girls work together to deal with their problems and, together, they get through everything.

  5. I liked this book and thought it was a fun read, but I also thought it was sort of weird. The writing style was pretty good and the sisters’ personalities were clearly described and interesting, but their mom was just… really creepy and weird. The book kind of disgusted me in some parts, but maybe that’s just because it’s a little old for me and not my style of book. I would recommend this for girls 13 and up. And don’t get me wrong, I liked the book, but I don’t think it’s good enough to be the winner of the award.

  6. During our First Top 3 Vote this year, the following comment was made about this book:
    “This makes you think about it after you finish reading it…”

Leave a comment