Posted in 2015-2016 Club, Not Mock Newbery

Bamboo Sword, by Margi Preus

Summary: In Japan in 1853, at the time of U.S. Commodore Matthew Perry’s visit to Japan, Yoshi, a young Japanese boy who dreams of becoming a samurai one day, learns about America from Majiro and has adventures with Jack, a young cabin boy aboard one of the U.S. ships.

Amulet

One thought on “Bamboo Sword, by Margi Preus

  1. I really thought this book was well-written and exciting! I ended up reading it twice and it didn’t make me think any less of it. I enjoyed the story line and the characters most. The plot was very interesting and I liked the things that the characters did. I didn’t feel like this was a Newbery, but I think it is a very fun read.

Leave a Reply

