Posted in 2015-2016 Club, Not Mock Newbery

Moonpenny Island, by Tricia Springstubb

Summary:  On Moonpenny Island, eleven-year-old Flor O’Dell experiences a series of life changes after her best friend’s sent away to a private school.

Balzer+Bray

Find it at WCPL

One thought on “Moonpenny Island, by Tricia Springstubb

  1. I find it hard to explain this story, simply because of its quality. It made me think in-depth about many things, surprisingly.
    Overall, I found the story well-written and well carried out. The characters were very.. deep, and made me think twice about judging others. The setting was well described and I definitely think of it as an attribute that perfected the story.
    Personally, I could see this as a Newbery winner. It was, as people will ask, distinguished literature, and well done at that. I see it as fine for children ages ten and up.

Leave a Reply

