Posted in 2015-2016 Club, Not Mock Newbery

I am Princess X, by Cherie Priest

Summary:  Once upon a time, two best friends created a princess together. Their heroine, Princess X, slayed all the dragons and scaled all the mountains their imaginations could conjure.
Once upon a few years later, Libby passed away, and Princess X died with her.
Once upon a now: May is sixteen and lonely, wandering the streets of Seattle, when she sees Princess X stickers, graffiti, and webcomic at IAmPrincessX.com. The more May explores the webcomic, the more she realizes that only one person could have started this phenomenon—her best friend, Libby, who lives.

Scholastic

2 thoughts on “I am Princess X, by Cherie Priest

  1. Comment from Kayla:
    In I Am Princess X I didn’t see that the characters were developed and I could only see themes shining through May. There were wonderful themes that were in this story (truth, friendship, perseverance) but I felt like the author didn’t use them. I’m not sure whether this is even appropriate for Newbery since one character is a killer, stalker, and murderer. While the plot is exciting, the end felt rushed. This book might suit 14 year-olds.

  2. I agree wholeheartedly with Kayla. I liked reading it, but it didn’t seem like a Newbery. I also agree about that one character. Personally I don’t think it’s quite appropriate for the Newbery, but that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

