Posted in 2014-2015 Club, Not Mock Newbery

Anybody Shining, by Frances O’Roark Dowell

Summary:  In a series of letters to her cousin, twelve-year-old Arie Mae relates her life in a mountain valley of North Carolina in the 1920s.

Atheneum

Find it at WCPL

One thought on “Anybody Shining, by Frances O’Roark Dowell

  1. I though this book was really nice, and I enjoyed reading it. The book is basically a collection of letters that Arie Mae has written to her cousin, but it also includes regular storytelling like in normal books. I think it was very well written, but I do not think it is a Newbery, because I didn’t think the characters were really well developed, and the setting wasn’t described as much as I had hoped.
    I think this book is written for 4th-6th graders.
    I recommend it for a nice read, but I do not think it is Newbery material.

Leave a Reply

