Posted in 2014-2015 Club, Not Mock Newbery

Hades Speaks! by Vicky Alvear Shecter

Hades SpeaksSummary:  Hades, god of the dead, welcomes readers on a dangerous tour of his underworld kingdom, filled with monsters, furies, giants, and vampire demons. Along the way, he reveals ancient death rites and sinister curses, tells hair-raising stories, and cracks jokes to die for. With his witty voice and ghoulish sense of humor, Hades is the perfect guide through this fresh and imaginative work of nonfiction that reads like a novel.

Boyds Mills Press

2 thoughts on “Hades Speaks! by Vicky Alvear Shecter

  1. I really enjoyed this book. I found it to be very informative and it taught me a lot of new facts about Greek mythology that I didn’t know.
    I thought the best part of this book was the presentation of information, because Hades, who was the narrator, was really hilarious and his narration was fun to read, and that helped him state facts in a way that made you actually want to read them.
    Another good part of the book was the characters, which I think is a little unusual for non-fiction books. Although Hades was really the only character you actually got to meet, he was well-developed and interesting. Persephone, his wife, also did a very short narration and told a few stories, and in that short time I got to know her personality as well. I think that Ms. Alvear Shecter did a good job of melding together the ancient views of Hades and a fictional, more modern side of him to make the book more interesting.
    Overall, I would definitely recommend this book if you wanted to learn about mythology about the Greek Underworld, but I’m still undecided if it’s Mock Newbery worthy.

    1. I don’t think that it’s Newbery worthy but I agree with Olivia that it was a very funny and informative book about Greek Mythology.

Leave a Reply

