Posted in 2014-2015 Club, Not Mock Newbery

Revolution, by Deborah Wiles

RevolutionSummary:  It’s 1964, and people from up north are coming to help people register to vote.  They’re calling it Freedom Summer.  Meanwhile, Sunny has a new stepmother, a new brother, and a new sister crowding her life, giving her little room to breathe.  And things get even trickier when Sunny and her brother are caught sneaking into the local swimming pool — where they bump into a mystery boy whose life is going to become tangled up in theirs.  In this world where everyone is choosing sides, these kids must figure out how to stand up for themselves and fight for what’s right.

Scholastic

4 thoughts on “Revolution, by Deborah Wiles

  1. I have to say that Revolution was the most informative book I’ve read on the sixties and on segregation but it was also the most textbook like story too. The thing I think that mainly created this dry feeling was the fact that there pretty much was an entire history book inserted into the novel. After every chapters there would be numerous pages of historical articles, songs, biographies and black and white photos. Perhaps this would have been helpful to bring the period to life… that is, if the reader actually took the time to read through them, which I had to force myself to do most of the time. It would have been okay if there was maybe one short passage after every chapter but the nonfiction made up almost half the book. Not only did the writing not drag me in, but the characters turned me off. I could picture and connect to all the minor characters: Aubrey, Boo, Gillette and Raymond but I did not like Sunny until the very end which in unfortunate considering she is the main character. She came across as bratty and selfish when I feel like I should have at least pitied her which I did not. Sometimes, even the heroes in this plot, the Freedom Fighters, came across as pesky, which I’m pretty sure, was unintentional. It was clear the author spent large amounts of time planning and writing this book that easily could have created a memorable and touching read but instead but instead were used to pack the book with facts and information that detracted from other aspects making this book less distinguished than others written on it’s topic. However, if you need to read a book to learn about the time period or segregation, Revolution is definitely the best book to read and will surely provide you with limitless knowledge as if you actually lived back then.

  2. Overall I did not enjoy the book. It was very confusing and it felt more like a textbook than a novel. It wasn’t a very gripping story. The plot never had any exciting parts. I didn’t even finish the book because I was not interesting. It didn’t tell you much about the characters so, I wasn’t eager to find out what happened to them. It was more what was going on in the time period, not the life of the main character. The book had a great description on the back and a good cover, and I was excited about reading it. I ended up being very disappointed.

  3. Revolution was too confusing. I didn’t enjoy the book at all! I didn’t finish the book because it couldn’t keep my attention. There were too many quotes and historical pictures. If Deborah put those quotes as an option at the end then it would be okay. Also the book would skip to different parts of the book. It would do a couple chapeters in the same setting and then switch over to a completely different part with a differnt family. I was very confused. Deborah’s first book, Countdown, was supposedly a whole lot better. I picked this book to read thinking that it would be very good. The cover looked good and the summery sounded very good. I’m very disapointed and expected more. I hope that she can come out with a better, less confusing book.

Leave a Reply

