Posted in 2014-2015 Club, Not Mock Newbery

Space Rocks, by Tom O’Donnell

Space RocksSummary:  Chorkle narrates the adventures of Earth children Hollins, Becky, Nicki, and Little Gus, marooned on his asteroid, Gelo, as he watches over them with his fives eyes, teaches them to fight a ferocious thyss-cat, and seeks a way to get them home.

RazorBill

Find it at WCPL

One thought on “Space Rocks, by Tom O’Donnell

  1. I thought this was a funny book, and I enjoyed every minutes of it. Basically, Chorkle meets 4 humans and takes them to his city against rules. The rest is a big adventure, involving a giant thyss-cat, enemies planning to destroy Gelo, and, of course, video games. Or more correctly, holographic video games involving shooting down spaceships.
    I liked reading it but I do not think it is a Newbery winner because from the criteria we discussed, it doesn’t really seem to fit in the best spots, and for me I have read much better books than this. I do think it is a fun read if you just are reading for fun.
    One of the weaknesses that I think could have made it a better book if the author had changed it was they kind of cussed a lot, which made it kind of annoying….But it was an OK book, in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

