Posted in 2014-2015 Club, Not Mock Newbery

Time of the Fireflies, by Kimberley Griffiths Little

Time of the FirefliesSummary:  When Larissa Renaud starts receiving eerie phone calls on a disconnected old phone in her family’s antique shop, she knows she’s in for a strange summer. A series of clues leads her to the muddy river banks, where clouds of fireflies dance among the cypress knees and cattails each evening at twilight. The fireflies are beautiful and mysterious, and they take her on a magical journey through time, where Larissa learns secrets about her family’s tragic past — deadly, curse-ridden secrets that could harm the future of her family as she knows it. It soon becomes clear that it is up to Larissa to prevent history from repeating itself and a fatal tragedy from striking the people she loves.

Scholastic

2 thoughts on “Time of the Fireflies, by Kimberley Griffiths Little

  1. I really liked this book. In some parts, there was a definite creepy feeling to it, and in others, there was a lot of emotion and I grew more attached to the characters. I think that balance was one of the best aspects of the book.
    I also think that there was a definite theme to the book: forgiveness. Larissa had to forgive both her archenemy and a very creepy doll with a soul to save her family.
    The setting was also a big part of the book. It’s set in the bayou, and the writing style helps to make me feel as though I’m standing right there in it.
    Overall, I really liked this book and I would recommend it to a friend, but I’m not quite sure whether it’ll win the Mock Newbery Award.

  2. I thought this book was interesting and could be a fun read for my friends, but it didn’t seem like a Newbery. It’s kind of like The Eighth Day: Kid finds out they have powers and save the world/family. So, in my opinion, it was not very distinguished. I have to admit, though, it was a little eerie at some points in a way that it kept you wanting to read more. But one plot issue I found was that Larissa was only in the past for a short period of time, which if it was longer, it might have had a better chance for the Newbery in my eyes. Also, I feel Larissa was a little too self-centered in the way she kept complaining about her scar to everyone; it reminds me of a girl I knew who would complain about things to anyone and everyone who would listen. To me, it was all for attention: you say you’re ugly, people call you beautiful. I think if it was less about her scar and more about the doll and time traveling, it might have been a little better.
    All-in-all, this is a nice book to read for fun, more so for people not in the Newbery Club (Because they will not need to look to see if it is special, they can just read it for fun.). I think it’s a good book for ages 9-10 or grades 4-5.

Leave a Reply

