Posted in 2013-2014 Club, Not Mock Newbery

Mountain Dog, by Margarita Engle

Mountain DogSummary:  When his mother is sent to jail in Los Angeles, eleven-year-old Tony goes to live with his forest ranger great-uncle in the Sierra Nevada Mountains, where Tony experiences unconditional love for the first time through his friendship with a rescue dog.

Henry Holt

One thought on “Mountain Dog, by Margarita Engle

  1. I normally love books in verse. In this story though I’m not sure if it fit. It was definitely good for the outdoorsy setting and thoughts of the dog but it made me feel like the main character Tony was pittying himself too much, which he did have a right to do but still. I think there was too much gushy fake-feeling sadness. I did like at the end how they adopted that puppy, I think it was sweet. That, and the time Tony was lost were pretty much the only times I truly connected to the main character. It was more than a fun read and it had a unique plot but it’s not my winner.

Leave a Reply

