Michael Vey The Prisoner of Cell 25 by Richard Paul Evans

Summary:  To everyone at Meridian High School, fourteen-year-old Michael Vey is nothing special, just the kid who has Tourette’s syndrome. But in truth, Michael is extremely special–he has electric powers. Michael thinks he is unique until he discovers that a cheerleader named Taylor has the same mysterious powers. With the help of Michael’s friend, Ostin, the three of them set out to discover how Michael and Taylor ended up with their abilities, and their investigation soon brings them to the attention of a powerful group who wants to control the electric teens–and through them, the world.

Simon Pulse

Find it at WCPL

4 Responses

  1. This was an amazing book and could be the new Harry Potter replacement (but sci-fi instead of fantasy). I connected with Michael and Taylor and was with them every step of their amazing journey. The plot was extremely well done and I almost did not finish the book because I did not want it to end. The only thing that disappointed me was that he linked it a little to the next book. Since a major plot point is left open, the author had little choice. I hope that this will not disqualify it for Newbery. But the story was so absorbing that, I who am not a fan of sci-fi normally, loved this book and I think everyone would enjoy it too. To conclude I think this is a Newbery book and I would recommend it for any person of any age. (I write this because my mom read it and because of her interest she was still in her PJs at ten o’clock in the morning. That’s something that never happens.)

  2. This is my top book for the year. Sadly it ends in a cliffhanger but the story itself wraps up but the overlying antagonistic force goes on. This book was brilliantly written and the characters were developed in a way that allowed you to relate to them. I feel that this book really deserves to win

  3. I didn’t really like this book. It didn’t interest me and wasn’t exciting or especially great. Also it had a BIG cliffhanger.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers