Posted in 2010-2011 Club, Mock Newbery Picks

One Crazy Summer, by Rita Williams-Garcia

Summary: In the summer of 1968, after traveling from Brooklyn to Oakland, California, to spend a month with the mother they barely know, eleven-year-old Delphine and her two younger sisters arrive to a cold welcome as they discover that their mother, a dedicated poet and printer, is resentful of the intrusion of their visit and wants them to attend a nearby Black Panther summer camp.

Find it at WCPL

8 thoughts on “One Crazy Summer, by Rita Williams-Garcia

  1. The author did a really good job of making the book seem like it was from a girl of the 60’s view. I really liked it, but I don’t think this is Newbery qualified.

  2. I loved all of the major and secondary characters in this book. I wish it was a little longer so I could spend some more time with them! I also liked the author’s style – her word choice and the rhythm of her words. I think this would be a good read aloud.

  3. I loved all of the characters in this book. I also liked the author’s style. I think this would be a good read aloud.

  4. A good book, but probably won’t win anything. If you are looking for a good book that will keep you interested this is it.

  5. I reeeallly enjoyed this. It was very easy and fun to read. I think (at least in our club) it’s taken too much flak and is better than quite a few books that we’ve read and pushed along this year.

  6. This book was pretty good. Sometimes I was distracted and bored of the plot though, and I was sometimes confused. I did enjoy the book though, but I don’t think I would recommend it for a Newbery.

Leave a Reply

