The Giant and How He Humbugged America, by Jim Murphy

Summary: When a 10-foot tall purported “petrified man” is unearthed from a backyard in upstate New York in 1869, the discovery immediately turns into a spectacle of epic proportions. News of the giant spreads like wildfire, and well over a thousand people come to view him in the first five days alone!
Soon the interests of world-renowned scientists and people from around the globe are piqued as arguments flare over who he is, where he came from, and if he is real–or just a hoax.

Scholastic

3 Responses

  1. Alright, this is my first nonfiction book I have read for Mock Newbery. I can’t exactly compare it yet. But I will do the best I can to describe it. So, it was set in the late 1860′s, but I am glad the author exchanges the money from their time to this time. They put that it is a hoax, in the middle of the book, I do think that is a good place, since most of the action was in the first part and most of the second part, was about explaining how the hoax was created. Setting was not all that special. I will have to read more nonfiction books to help me to decide yes or no though…..

    • I didn’t really enjoy it. It felt like reading schoolwork. I appreciated it for its educational value but wouldn’t recommend it for pleasure, which is what we are looking for in Newbery. Right? If I’m wrong, someone please tell me.

      *** (3 stars)

      • Actually, the Newbery criteria include non-fiction as well as fiction. We look at interpretation of the theme or concept, presentation of information including accuracy, clarity, and organization, delineation of characters, delineation of setting, and appropriateness of style. Plot would not be as applicable in comparing non-fiction with fiction.
        So keep reading and comparing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers