Curveball the Year I Lost my Grip, by Jordan Sonnenblick

Summary:Sometimes, the greatest comebacks take place far away from the ball field. Meet Peter Friedman, high school freshman. Talented photographer. Former baseball star. When a freakish injury ends his pitching career, Peter has some major things to figure out. Is there life after sports? Why has his grandfather suddenly given him thousands of dollars worth of camera equipment? And is it his imagination, or is the super-hot star of the girls’ swim team flirting with him, right in front of the amazing new girl in his photography class? In his new novel, teen author Jordan Sonnenblick performs his usual miraculous feat: exploring deep themes of friendship, romance, family, and tragedy, while still managing to be hilariously funny.

Scholastic Press

Find it at WCPL

6 Responses

  1. I like how this book had the characters so well developed, but there wasn’t exactly a plot. There was a little romance stuff, but once again I remember that the Hunger Games won, so compared to the Hunger Games, romance is not a problem. I don’t know whether this has a chance or not since it seems to me right in the middle, so I would like some other feedback to help make my decision.

  2. Actually, I have decided that this is eligible for the Newbery.

  3. I love how the characters develop in this book, especially the main character. The romance is definitely there like Benjamin said, but i think it helps move the plot along at parts where you really can’t figure out what the plot is

  4. I thought the characters were the weaker part of the book, but the story wasn’t that great either. As Benjamin said, there wasn’t too much of a plot, and I don’t think the book was the best of the year.

  5. I enjoyed the book. I can relate to it, as I do a lot of activities with my grandpa, but I don’t get to see him for as much as 6 months at a time. I guess this relates because Peter didn’t get to spend much time with his “real” grandpa.

    The plot was weird, but I still think it is Newbery material.

    **** (4 stars)

    “Expect the UnXpected”

  6. I did not like this book. There was character developement but i had a hard time figuring out what the plot was. I did not like the romance in it. The hunger games does have lots of romance, but the writer makes it seem romantic. In this book, the romance just seemed kind of stupid and uncomfortable. This book can’t win the newbery.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 168 other followers