Top 7 Nominations for 2012 Newbery Award

December 2 we met and came up with a Top 4 in addition to the Top 3 we each nominated 6 weeks ago.  This post includes both, as our final nominations for this year, excluding those Top 4 with only 1 vote.  I recognize that this is a very long list even without listing the 21 titles with only 1 vote.  But I expect that the kids’ comments that go along with them will be worth scrolling down to read!

Amelia Lost: the Life and Disappearance of Amelia Earhart, by Candace Fleming
. “You come to bond with Amelia.” – Yates
The Aviary by Kathleen O’Dell
. “It captivated me.” – Ruchi
. “It was amazing that Clara overcame her worst nemesis, fear, which we all struggle with.” – Rebekah
Between Shades of Gray, by Ruta Sepetys
. “…keeps going back to flashbacks… with a big twist.” – Ram
. “It touched my heart.  I could feel and breathe every word.” – Ruchi
Bird in a Box by Andrea Davis Pinkney
. “I think the different points of view made this story great.” – Mehlynn
. “…characters were as familiar to me as my friends.” – Surya
The Cheshire Cheese Cat: a Dickens of a Tale, by by Carmen Deedy
. “…characters are varied and well-written into the framework of the story.” – Kyle
City of Orphans by Avi
. “The plot and setting are great.” – Mukil
. “..the kind of story that makes you want to learn more.” – Andrew
. “..occasionally made my heart start racing… I felt like I was in the book.” – Bonnie
The Dragons of Silk by Laurence Yep
. “I love how the generations are connected and overlapping…” – Yael
. “..made me feel as if I were part of the family, living their lives and being with them.” – Bonnie
The Emerald Atlas by John Stephens
.”…had me reading until the end…” – Ajay
The Floating Islands by Rachel Neumeier
. “While simple, it is very exciting. It makes you want to be the characters.” – Andrew
The Great Migration: Journey to the North by Eloise Greenfield
. “Story is told in prose and gives a great feeling of the kind of culture that existed among them.” – Kyle
Hidden by Helen Frost
. “The emotions felt by the characters penetrated the pages and controlled the reader’s emotions so well.” – Sachi
Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai
. “The poetry format matched the story and made it even better.” – Yael
Kick by Walter Dean Myers
. “…the multiple points of view was what I liked.” – Ajay
Michael Vey: The Prisoner of Cell 25 by Richard Paul Evans
. “The writing is very enticing…” – Andrew
. “Everyone will wish Michael were real.” – Rebekah
A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
. “…very different plot.” – Parv
. “Great and gripping story.” – Patrick
No Passengers Beyond This Point by Gennifer Choldenko
. “…I couldn’t put it down.” – Yael
Okay for Now by Gary Schmidt
. “I thought that the voice the author uses is amazing.” – Meylynn
. “I dreamed about the characters.” – Surya
. “…could really bond with the characters.” – Gokul
The Only Ones by Aaron Starmer
. “..plenty of detail so you aren’t left with a cookie-cutter story.” – Patrick
Queen of the Falls by Chris Van Allsburg
. “…ending made me feel strongly for her and her struggles.” – Bonnie
The Romeo and Juliet Code by Phoebe Stone
. “Character development and the details made the story’s plot…” – Ponni
Saving Zasha by Randi Barrow
. “…made the story realistic for me.” – Ponni
The Silver Bowl by Diane Stanley
. “Molly takes you along her amazing and unsure adventure.” – Rebekah
Small Acts of Amazing Courage by Gloria Whelan
. “The characters were awesome.” – Surya
. “..showed how to be a person on your own.” – Aparna
. “… I can bond with the character.” – Gokul
The Unwanteds by Lisa McMann
. “The idea of “magic powered by creativity” was amazing.” – Yael
. “An action-packed story filled to the brim in the feelings of an unwanted populace.” – Kyle
The Wikkeling by Steven Arntson
. “Description of futuristic setting is put into words in near-brilliance…” – Kyle
. “…gave me the creeps. ..good visualization and joyful to read.” – Surya
Words in the Dust by Trent Reedy
. “I could feel the main character as if she were me.” – Surya

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 175 other followers